The International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies assists scientists, scholars, engineers, and health professionals around the world who are subjected to severe repression solely for having nonviolently exercised their rights as promulgated by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR).  It stands in solidarity with sister national academies and scholarly societies worldwide to support their independence and autonomy, and it promotes institutional human rights consciousness-raising and commitment to supporting such efforts.





For the treatment of the requests sent by the network, the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium and the Royal Academy of Belgium have created a joint committee : the Commission for the Free Practice for Science and Arts.





Representatives of the Académie royale de Belgique


Mr Pierre Bartholomée   Classe des Arts
Mr Paul Smets   Classes des Lettres
Mr Jean-Marie Frère   Classe des Sciences
Mrs Carine Doutrelepont   Classe Technologie et Société



Representatives of the Koninklijke Vlaamse Academie van België


Mr Willem Elias   Klasse Kunsten
Mr Marie-Claire Foblets   Klasse Menswetenschappen
Mrs Irina Veretennicoff   Klasse Natuurwetenschappen
Mr Derrick Gosselin   Klasse Technische Wetenschappen